New Compositions for Peter Tscherkassky´s Cinemascope Trilogy

02/2019 impuls – AT

Cinemascope Music

New Compositions for Peter Tscherkassky´s Cinemascope Trilogy


This multistage project was initiated by impuls within the frame of the ULYSSES-Network in 2017, involving several partners and enjoying already presentations beyond the ULYSSES-Network-partner-organisations (IMD in July 2018, Gaudeamus in September 2018).

The young, but already internationally successful composers Mirela Ivičević and Julien Malaussena (impuls), Javier Elipe Gimeno and Ariadna Alsina (IRCAM), Boris Bezemer and Mikołaj Laskowski (Gaudeamus) as well as Clara Iannotta and Simon Løffler (IMD) are commissioned by impuls and its partners to develop new compositions to the experimental films of the Austrian filmmaker Peter Tscherkassky – in specific for his internationally praised CinemaScope Trilogy, for which he also received multiple awards.

After a kick-off meeting for all artistis involved in this project in Graz back in 2017, which included also a symposion on film and music, meetings with Yaron Deutsch of Ensemble Nikel as representative of the future interpreters, and coaching by Wolfgang Mitterer and Jorge Sánchez-Chiong, impuls is now heading towards the realization of its own commissions, the premiere of further compositions contributed by participants of the impuls Academy 2017 as well as two new compositions that were premiered already at one of the partner institutions beforehand. All composers involved will be present at impuls, and also meet for a discussion of the project the day after the main event. Furthermore Clara Iannotta and Simon Løffler are also included in the team of the Academy as junior tutors.


Participating artists:

Peter Tscherkassky

Joan Gómez Alemany, Clara Iannotta, Mirela Ivičević, Yoav Levy, Simon Løffler, Julien Malaussena

Ensemble Nikel
Yaron Deutsch: electric guitar / Patrick Stadler: saxophones / Brian Archinal: percussion / Antoine Françoise: piano
Alfred Reiter: sound
Aaron Holloway Nahum: production, video


Public presentations:

12 February 2019, 8 pm 

Peter Tscherkassky: CinemaScope Trilogie

L´Arrivée (1998), 3 min.

Outer Space (1999), 10 min.

Dream Work (2001), 11 min.




Simon Løffler: Dreamwork (2018, Austrian premiere)

Joan Gómez Alemany: L´Arrivée (2018, World premiere)

Clara Iannotta: Outer Space (2018, Austrian premiere)

Julien Malaussena: Outer Space (2018, impuls commission, World premiere)

Yoav Levy: L´Arrivée (2018, World premiere)

Mirela Ivičević: Dreamwork (2018, impuls commission, World premiere)


13 February 2019, 10 am

Discussion with composers Joan Gómez Alemany, Clara Iannotta, Mirela Ivičević, Yoav Levy, Simon Løffler, Julien Malaussena

Florentinersaal, Graz


organized in partnership with Gaudeamus - NLIMD - DEIrcam - FR

ULYSSES Journey for Performers

Conducting Course


Young ensemble in residency - Ensemble Schallfeld

fringilla mattis venenatis dolor. quis id, lectus facilisis ipsum id non